My experiences with Arch – Introduction

This is the first of a few blog posts which I’m going to use to document all that I tweak on my laptop and raspberry pi.

I have a Dell Inspiron 15 which has an intel core i5 processor with a 5GB RAM. It’s about 5 years old, and hence obsolete. About a year back, after consistent Windows use (and abuse), my laptop crashed and I took that oppurtunity to test linux. First I ran Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander, and I wasn’t that impressed with it either. After that I moved to Arch Linux, and haven’t looked back since.

On my Arch system I run a tiling window manager called Awesome Window Manager, and have been following various ricing guides online. Here is what my desktop looks like now. 2015-06-13-100548_1366x768_scrot2015-06-13-100709_1366x768_scrot

Here are a few resources online which I used to set this up.

  1. The /g/ wiki of 4chan.
  2. This YouTube user‘s videos.
  3. Quite obviously, the god-like Arch Wiki and also the wiki for awesome window manager.

I’ve mostly tried to stick to the ricing configuration which has been mentioned in the /g/-wiki under the section “What does /g/ use?”

I’ve tweaked with it so much that I have forgetten how I’ve gotten to where I am now. So I’ve decided to document whatever I do from now so that I can keep a track of it.

Leave a Reply

