Lutyens’ Delhi.

A while back, I came across a blog post (of whose content I now have no recollection of), which just focused on praise of one particular thing. It was such a joy reading it, how the words flowed so smoothly out in praise…

That blog post made such a big impression on me that I decided to write something like it myself. I researched on what these types of rhetoric were called, and came across the encomium, which was supposedly the eight exercise in Progymnasmata, a series of rhetorical exercises for the students in Ancient Greece. But the problem was, what was I to write about?

There wasn’t anything which moved me to such an extent that I could write and write about it. Even if I did find something, would I have the skill to just go on and on about it without exhausting everything I could say about it? Like almost everything in my life, I just let this be, and moved on.

Today, however, we (a couple of brothers and I) went on an impromptu tour of Lutyens’ Delhi, and boy, did that shake me up. I wasn’t really a stranger to being shaken up as such, for instance, there was this time where I stood at the very edge of Mumbai, and gazed at it’s skyline, to spot, to my utter shock, Mukesh Ambani’s house. I couldn’t believe it. How rich must one be to have one’s house as a part of the Mumbai skyline? Somehow this filled me with a feeling of contempt, this tingling feeling of unpleasantness at the pit of my stomach.

But today I felt something similar, but it left me with such a drugging combination of emotions that I couldn’t help not recording it.

Looking up at the majesty of Rashtrapati Bhavan and Sansad Bhavan first sent a wave of patriotic pride across, and it made me feel small, almost puny. I felt as though I had reached the very heart of India itself.  All those times when I gazed at these things in movie screens or in pictures, and finally here it in real life, and I had NO idea it was like how it was. Then I looked at perfect it was, the architecture, and the symmetry. Rashtrapati bhavan on one end, and India Gate at the other, and Rajpath connecting them, so beautifully standing in tribute to the genius of Edwin Lutyens.

Leave a Reply

